Love and Grief My Heart Dividing

Isaac_WattsAs part of my Good Friday morning meditation today I read hymns and spiritual song texts from the Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs of the Rev. Isaac Watts, D.D.  As often seems the case, a line jumped out at me.  On this very contemplative day I was drawn to the line, “Love and grief my heart dividing.”  Worship, whether in solitude or community, so often holds in tension such very real strange bedfellows as love and grief.  This makes some spiritual sense in that Christ is our All in All, and we are in Christ.  It seems to follow then that love and grief lay side by side in the same residence.  Thus the tears with which we might bathe his feet are tears of worship, whether in memorial sadness or overwhelmed response to such love as this.  See the poem below and join in “sweet moments before the cross” on this Good Friday.  All praise to God for the finished work of Christ our Lord.

Sweet the moments, rich in blessing,
Which before the cross I spend;
Life and health, and peace possessing,
From the sinner’s dying Friend.
Truly blessed is this station,
Low before his cross to lie;
While I see divine compassion
Beaming in his gracious eye.
Love and grief my heart dividing,
With my tears his feet I’ll bathe;
Constant still, in faith abiding,
Life deriving from his death.
May I still enjoy this feeling,
In all need to Jesus go;
Prove his wounds each day more healing,
And himself more fully know.
— Robinson in “Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs of Isaac Watts”

Explore posts in the same categories: Congregational Singing, Leading Worship, Music Ministry, Private Worship, Singing Worship, Spiritual formation through singing, Worship Leaders, Worship Pastors, Worship Reminders, Worship theology, Worship thoughts

Leave a Reply

